New series: Race and Resistance Across Borders in the Long Twentieth Century

Proposals for book projects are welcome for the new series


Race and Resistance Across Borders in the Long Twentieth Century


Series Editors:

Tessa Roynon, University of Oxford (Executive Editor)
Elleke Boehmer, University of Oxford
Victoria Collis-Buthelezi, University of Cape Town
Patricia Daley, University of Oxford
Aaron Kamugisha, University of the West Indies, Cave Hill
Minkah Makalani, University of Texas, Austin
Hélène Neveu Kringelbach, University College London
Stephen Tuck, University of Oxford

This series focuses on the history and culture of activists, artists and intellectuals who worked within and against racially oppressive hierarchies in the first half of the twentieth century, and who then sought to define and achieve full equality once those formal hierarchies had been overturned. It explores the ways in which such individuals – writers, scholars, campaigners and organizers, ministers, and artists and performers of all kinds – located their resistance within a global context and forged connections with each other across national, linguistic, regional and imperial borders.

Disseminating the latest interdisciplinary scholarship on the history, literature and culture of anti-racist movements in Africa, the Caribbean, the United States, Europe, Asia and Latin America, the series foregrounds, through a cross-disciplinary approach, the transnational and intercultural nature of these resistance movements. The series embraces a range of themes, including but not limited to antislavery, intellectual and literary networks, emigration and immigration, anti-imperialism, church-based and religious movements, civil rights, citizenship and identity, Black Power, resistance strategies, women’s movements, cultural transfer, white supremacy and anti-immigration, hip hop and global justice movements.

The series is affiliated with the Race and Resistance Research Network at the University of Oxford. Proposals are invited for sole- and joint-authored monographs as well as edited collections.


Editorial Advisory Board:

Funmi Adewole (DeMontfort University), Joan Anim-Addo (Goldsmiths, University of London), Celeste-Marie Bernier (University of Nottingham), Alan Cobley (University of the West Indies, Cave Hill), Carolyn Cooper (University of the West Indies, Mona), Zaire Dinzey-Flores (Rutgers, State University of New Jersey), Tanisha Ford (University of Massachusetts, Amherst), Maryemma Graham (University of Kansas), Christopher J. Lee (University of the Witwatersrand), Justine McConnell (University of Oxford), Pap Ndiaye (Sciences Po), David Scott (Columbia University), Hortense Spillers (Vanderbilt University), Imaobong Umoren (University of Oxford), Harvey Young (Northwestern University)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: